Search

Asian Perspectives Global Issues

Search

The Year 1000: When Explorers Connected the World — and Globalization Began The Year 1000: When Explorers Connected the World — and Globalization Began

The Year 1000: When Explorers Connected the World — and Globalization Began

Date: Thursday, February 25, 2021 20:30 - 22:00 Google Calendar Outlook/Apple Calendar
Speaker(s): Valerie Hansen
Language: English
Enquiry: econhist@hku.hk
Quantitative History Webinar Series - The Year 1000: When Explorers Connected the World — and Globalization Began [Valerie Hansen, Stanley Woodward Professor of History, Yale University]
Information

A new system of global pathways formed in the year 1000 AD following the Vikings’ arrival in northeastern Canada. Trade goods, people, and ideas moved along these newly discovered routes. The Year 1000: When Explorers Connected the World―and Globalization Began, written by Yale historian Valerie Hansen, tells the story of the most surprising journeys around the year 1000 took place when speakers of Malayic languages departed from the Malay peninsula and arrived on the island of Madagascar off the east coast of Africa some 4000 miles away. The shipping route from the port of Basra in the Middle East to Guangzhou, China via India and Southeast Asia was the longest maritime pathway in regular use before 1492. Stretching some 8000 miles long, it was nearly twice as long as the distance Columbus covered (4400 miles) when he crossed the Atlantic. In this Quantitative History Webinar, Valerie Hansen will take us back to the year 1000 and discuss how globalization began. For the first time in world history an object or a message could travel all the way around the world. Europeans did not invent globalization. They changed and augmented what had been there since 1000. If globalization had not yet begun in the Americas, Asia, and Africa, Europeans would not have been able to penetrate the markets in so many places as quickly as they did after 1492.

Live on Zoom on February 25, 2021
20:30 Hong Kong/Beijing/Singapore 
07:30 New York | 12:30 London | 21:30 Tokyo | 23:30 Sydney

About the Speaker(s)
Valerie Hansen

Valerie Hansen

Stanley Woodward Professor of History, Yale University
Event Poster
Quantitative History Webinar Series - The Year 1000: When Explorers Connected the World — and Globalization Began [Valerie Hansen, Stanley Woodward Professor of History, Yale University]
The Year 1000: When Explorers Connected the World — and Globalization Began
Notes

Photo credit: Book cover of The Year 1000: When Explorers Connected the World―and Globalization Began


About the Quantitative History Webinar Series 
The Quantitative History Webinar Series, convened by Professor Zhiwu Chen and Dr. Chicheng Ma of The University of Hong Kong (HKU), aims to provide researchers, teachers and students with an online intellectual platform to keep up to date with the latest research in the field, promoting the dissemination of research findings and interdisciplinary use of quantitative methods in historical research. The Series is co-organized by the International Society for Quantitative History, HKU Business School, and the Asia Global Institute (AGI).

Conveners:
Professor Zhiwu Chen
Dr. Chicheng Ma 

To return to the Series page, click here

Videos

Asia Global Institute

Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Copyright © 2021

Website by Roojai