Search

Asian Perspectives Global Issues

Search

Transition to Agriculture and First State Presence Transition to Agriculture and First State Presence

Transition to Agriculture and First State Presence

Date: Thursday, April 8, 2021 16:00 - 17:30 Google Calendar Outlook/Apple Calendar
Venue: Zoom Webinar
Speaker(s): Ola Olsson
Language: English
Enquiry: econhist@hku.hk
Quantitative History Webinar Series - Transition to Agriculture and First State Presence [Ola Olsson, Professor of Economics, University of Gothenburg]
Information

It has often been observed that the emergence of states in a region is typically preceded by an earlier transition to agricultural production. Using new data on the date of first state emergence within contemporary countries, Ola Olsson and his co-authors present a global scale analysis of the chronological relationship between the transition to agriculture and the subsequent emergence of states. They find statistically significant relationships between early reliance on agriculture and state age in all sub-samples. In this Quantitative History Webinar, Ola Olsson of University of Gothenburg will explore how their findings show that this relationship is not markedly different in cases where states were imposed from outside or when they emerged through internal origination.

Ola's co-authors: Oana Borcan (University of Gothenburg) and Louis Putterman (Brown University)

Live on Zoom on April 8, 2021
16:00 Hong Kong/Beijing/Singapore
09:00 London | 10:00 Gothenburg
17:00 Tokyo | 18:00 Sydney
Calculate your local time

About the Speaker(s)
Ola Olsson

Ola Olsson

Professor of Economics, University of Gothenburg
Event Poster
Quantitative History Webinar Series - Transition to Agriculture and First State Presence [Ola Olsson, Professor of Economics, University of Gothenburg]
Transition to Agriculture and First State Presence
Notes

Photo credit: unbekannt, Maler im Alten Ägypten, FAL, via Wikimedia Commons

About the Quantitative History Webinar Series 
The Quantitative History Webinar Series, convened by Professor Zhiwu Chen and Dr. Chicheng Ma of The University of Hong Kong (HKU), aims to provide researchers, teachers and students with an online intellectual platform to keep up to date with the latest research in the field, promoting the dissemination of research findings and interdisciplinary use of quantitative methods in historical research. The Series is co-organized by the International Society for Quantitative History, HKU Business School, and the Asia Global Institute (AGI).

Conveners:
Professor Zhiwu Chen
Dr. Chicheng Ma 

To return to the Series page, click here

Videos

Asia Global Institute

Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Copyright © 2021

Website by Roojai