Search

Asian Perspectives Global Issues

Search

Going the Distance: Eurasian Trade and the Rise of the Business Corporation, 1400-1700 Going the Distance: Eurasian Trade and the Rise of the Business Corporation, 1400-1700

Going the Distance: Eurasian Trade and the Rise of the Business Corporation, 1400-1700

Date: Thursday, July 23, 2020 16:00 - 17:45 Google Calendar Outlook/Apple Calendar
Venue: Zoom Webinar
Speaker(s): Ron Harris
Language: English
Enquiry: econhist@hku.hk
Quantitative History Webinar Series: Going the Distance: Eurasian Trade and the Rise of the Business Corporation, 1400-1700 [Ron Harris, Tel-Aviv University]
Information

Before the seventeenth century, trade across Eurasia was mostly conducted in short segments along the Silk Route and Indian Ocean. Business was organized in family firms, merchant networks, and state-owned enterprises, and dominated by Chinese, Indian, and Arabic traders. However, around 1600 the first two joint-stock corporations, the English and Dutch East India Companies, were established. Going the Distance, written by Ron Harris, tells the story of overland and maritime trade without Europeans, of European Cape Route trade without corporations, and of how new, large-scale, and impersonal organizations arose in Europe to control long-distance trade for more than three centuries. Ron Harris shows that by 1700, the scene and methods for global trade had dramatically changed: Dutch and English merchants shepherded goods directly from China and India to northwestern Europe. To understand this transformation, Harris compares the organizational forms used in four major regions: China, India, the Middle East, and Western Europe. The English and Dutch were the last to leap into Eurasian trade, and they innovated in order to compete. They raised capital from passive investors through impersonal stock markets and their joint-stock corporations deployed more capital, ships, and agents to deliver goods from their origins to consumers. In this Webinar, Ron Harris will share his insights on the history behind a cornerstone of the modern economy, and how this organizational revolution contributed to the formation of global trade and the creation of the business corporation as a key factor in Europe’s economic rise.

Live on Zoom on July 23, 2020
09:00 London | 11:00 Tel Aviv | 16:00 Hong Kong/Beijing/Singapore | 17:00 Tokyo | 18:00 Sydney

About the Speaker(s)
Ron Harris

Ron Harris

Kalman Lubowsky Professor of Law and History, Tel-Aviv University
Event Poster
Going the Distance: Eurasian Trade and the Rise of the Business Corporation, 1400-1700
Notes

Photo credit: Princeton University Press 


About the Quantitative History Webinar Series 
The Quantitative History Webinar Series, convened by Professor Zhiwu Chen and Dr. Chicheng Ma of The University of Hong Kong (HKU), aims to provide researchers, teachers and students with an online intellectual platform to keep up to date with the latest research in the field, promoting the dissemination of research findings and interdisciplinary use of quantitative methods in historical research. The Series is co-organized by the International Society for Quantitative History, HKU Business School, and the Asia Global Institute (AGI).

Conveners:
Professor Zhiwu Chen
Dr. Chicheng Ma 

Videos
  • Quantitative History Webinar by Ron Harris (Tel-Aviv University)


Asia Global Institute

Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Copyright © 2020

Website by Roojai