Search

Asian Perspectives Global Issues

Search

Discretion and Destruction: Promotions, Performance, and Patronage in the Royal Navy Discretion and Destruction: Promotions, Performance, and Patronage in the Royal Navy

Discretion and Destruction: Promotions, Performance, and Patronage in the Royal Navy

Date: Thursday, September 17, 2020 16:00 - 17:30 Google Calendar Outlook/Apple Calendar
Venue: Zoom Webinar
Speaker(s): Hans-Joachim Voth
Language: English
Enquiry: econhist@hku.hk
Quantitative History Webinar Series - Discretion and Destruction: Promotions, Performance, and Patronage in the Royal Navy [Hans-Joachim Voth,‬ University of Zurich]
Information

Patronage is a byword for poor performance, yet its effect on the quality of selection is theoretically ambiguous. Professor Joachim Voth and his co-author study the selection effects of patronage in the world’s most successful navy – the British Royal Navy between 1690 and 1849. Using newly collected data on the battle performance of more than 5,800 naval officers, they find that promotees with family ties to the top of the naval hierarchy outperformed unconnected ones. This result is not driven by better assignments, crews, or equipment. There was substantial heterogeneity among the admirals in charge of promotions. Discretion over appointments thus created scope for "good” and "bad” patronage. In this Quantitative History Webinar, Joachim will explain in detail the overall selection effect of patronage.

Joachim's coauthor is Guo Xu (Haas School of Business).

Live on Zoom on September 17, 2020
09:00 London | 10:00 Zurich | 16:00 Hong Kong/Beijing/Singapore | 17:00 Tokyo | 18:00 Sydney

About the Speaker(s)
Hans-Joachim Voth

Hans-Joachim Voth

UBS Foundation Professor of Economics, University of Zurich
Notes

Photo credit: Dominic Serres / Public domain 


About the Quantitative History Webinar Series 
The Quantitative History Webinar Series, convened by Professor Zhiwu Chen and Dr. Chicheng Ma of The University of Hong Kong (HKU), aims to provide researchers, teachers and students with an online intellectual platform to keep up to date with the latest research in the field, promoting the dissemination of research findings and interdisciplinary use of quantitative methods in historical research. The Series is co-organized by the International Society for Quantitative History, HKU Business School, and the Asia Global Institute (AGI).

Conveners:
Professor Zhiwu Chen
Dr. Chicheng Ma 

Videos

Asia Global Institute

Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Copyright © 2020

Website by Roojai